South Africa Squad For T20 World Cup 2012

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has named its final squad for both the Men’s and Women’s competitions at the ICC World Twenty20 in Sri Lanka next month.

AB de Villiers will lead the men’s squad. Graeme Smith, who was picked in the 30 probables, has not made the final 15.

South Africa’s squad sees the return of De Villiers, Jacques Kallis, Dale Steyn and Morne Morkel who were all rested for the triangular T20 series against Zimbabwe and Bangladesh in June.

“We were not able to consider Marchant de Lange through injury,” commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson, “but we are confident that our squad will be very competitive and make South Africa proud.

“We have had basically the same squad together for the past year and many of them also produced stand-out performances at the Indian Premier League (IPL).

“The Proteas will also have excellent preparation for the World Twenty20 by finishing the England tour with three matches there.

“They may be playing on a different surface to that they will find in Sri Lanka but they will be able to hone their T20 specific skills.”

South Africa Squad For T20 World Cup 2012

AB de Villiers (capt), Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Johan Botha, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Jacques Kallis, Richard Levi, Albie Morkel, Morne Morkel, Justin Ontong, Wayne Parnell, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *