1st T20: New Zealand bowl first against South Africa

New Zealand captain Brendon McCullum won the toss and chose to bowl Friday in the opening Twenty20 international against South Africa.

New Zealand have left out Andrew Ellis and Michael Bates, while Jacob Oram is nursing an injury.

Fast bowler Doug Bracewell and opener Martin Guptill come into the side that beat Zimbabwe in Hamilton on Tuesday.

South Africa named the same team that beat Canterbury province in a warmup match on Wednesday.

New Zealand is coming off a whitewash of Zimbabwe, having won the test, all three ODIS and both Twenty20 games.

New Zealand: Brendon McCullum (captain), Martin Guptill, Rob Nicol, Kane Williamson, James Franklin, Colin de Grandhomme, Nathan McCullum, Doug Bracewell, Kyle Mills, Ronnie Hira, Tim Southee.

South Africa: AB de Villiers (captain), Richard Levi, Hashim Amla, Colin Ingram, JP Duminy, Justin Ontong, Albie Morkel, Johan Botha, Rusty Theron, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *