South Africa win toss, bat in fourth ODI‎

South Africa won the toss and elected to bat first in the fourth ODI against Sri Lanka at the De Beers Diamond Oval in Kimberley on Friday.

South Africa have made two changes, Wayne Parnell comes in for Dale Steyn, who is being rested for the remainder of the series, and Albie Morkel makes way for Vernon Philander.

The Sri Lankans have also made few changes, Mahela Jayawardene, ruled out through a back injury earlier in the week, has been replaced by Lahiru Thirimanne.

Sachithra Senanayake comes in for his international debut, while Thisara Perera also plays. Dhammika Prasad and Kosala Kulasekara have been left out.

South Africa have already won the five-match series after taking an unassailable 3-0 lead.

Sri Lanka will now be playing for pride, while South Africa will have their eye on a clean-sweep and some ranking points.

South Africa (Playing XI): Graeme Smith, Alviro Petersen, Colin Ingram, AB de Villiers(w/c), Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Robin Peterson, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Lonwabo Tsotsobe, Wayne Parnell.

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Tillakaratne Dilshan(c), Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara(w), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dinesh Chandimal, Angelo Mathews, Thissara Perera, Rangana Herath, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Sachithra Senanayake.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *