Sri Lanka names squad but not skipper for Australia series

Sri Lanka Cricket have announced their ODI and T20 squad for the home series against Australia, but Sri Lanka Cricket have not named a captain.

Tillakaratne Dilshan, who was named captain for the just concluded tour of England, was included in the 20-man squad scheduled to play five ODIs and two Twenty20 games against Australia.

Thilina Kandamby, who was the ODI vice-captain in England, was not named in the squad. Dilhara Fernando, who picked up an injury in the third Test against England at the Rose Bowl, also misses out. Offspinner Sachithra Senanayake is the only uncapped player included in the squad.

Former Sri Lankan Test and One day player, Rumesh Ratnayake has been named Sri Lanka’s Head coach for the forthcoming Test, One day and T20 series against the Australians.

The squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan, Mahela Jayawardena, Kumar Sangakkara, Angelo Mathews, Chamara Kapugedera, Jeevan Mendis, Chamara Silva, Dinesh Chandimal, Dimuth Karunaratne, Thisara Perera, Lasith Malinga, Suranga Lakmal, Dhammika Prasad, Nuwan Kulasekera, Isuru Udana, Suraj Randiv, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath, Malinga Bandara and Sachithra Senanayake.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *