Sri Lanka Test Squad For South Africa Tour

Spinner Ajantha Mendis and fast bowler Dilhara Fernando have been included in the Sri Lanka’s test squad for the tour of South Africa next month.

Mendis missed the recent home Test series against Australia and was not part of the squad that played against Pakistan in UAE due to a back injury. He will replace Suraj Randiv.

Fernando will replace Dammika Prasad, who was ruled out of the limited-overs series against Pakistan in the UAE with an injury.

“With so many injuries, we had to bring back Dilhara Fernando who is the most experienced of the fast bowlers,” said chairman of selectors Duleep Mendis.

Fast bowlers Nuwan Kulasekara and Shaminda Eranga and wicketkeeper Prasanna Jayawardene were also not considered because of injury.

Wicketkeeper Kaushal Silva, who made his Test debut against Pakistan earlier this month, has been included in place of Prasanna Jayawardene.

All-rounder Thisara Perera and uncapped opening batsman Dimuth Karunaratne have also been included in the squad.

Sri Lanka play South Africa in a three-test series which starts on December 15 in Centurion.

Sri Lanka Test Squad: Tillakaratne Dilshan (captain), Angelo Mathews (vice-captain), Tharanga Paranavitana, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Dinesh Chandimal, Kaushal Silva (wicketkeeper), Lahiru Thirimanne, Dimuth Karunaratne, Chanaka Welegedara, Dilhara Fernando, Nuwan Pradeep, Suranga Lakmal, Thisara Perera, Ajantha Mendis, Rangana Herath.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *