South Africa win toss, elect to bat against Sri Lanka in first ODI

South Africa captain AB de Villiers won the toss and elected to bat against Sri Lanka in their first One-Day International at Boland Park in Paarl on Wednesday.

All-rounder Albie Morkel makes his return after an absence of just over a year while left-arm spinner Robin Peterson has been preferred to off-spinner Johan Botha.

Sri Lanka include fast bowler Lasith Malinga and seamer Nuwan Kulasekara, neither of whom played in the recent test series. Spinner Ajantha Mendis has also made it to the playing eleven.

Sri Lanka (Playing XI): Tillakaratne Dilshan(c), Upul Tharanga, Kumar Sangakkara, Mahela Jayawardene, Angelo Mathews, Dinesh Chandimal(w), Kosala Kulasekara, Nuwan Kulasekara, Lasith Malinga, Ajantha Mendis, Dilhara Fernando.

South Africa (Playing XI): Graeme Smith, Hashim Amla, Jacques Kallis, AB de Villiers(w/c), Jean-Paul Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Albie Morkel, Robin Peterson, Dale Steyn, Morne Morkel, Lonwabo Tsotsobe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *