Tag Archives: David Warner

Fastest centuries in test cricket

Australian opener David Warner scored the equal fourth fastest century in Test history on the opening day of third Test against India at Perth.

Warner reached his hundred off 69 balls by hitting debutant paceman Vinay Kumar for his third six of the innings.

Fastest centuries in test cricket

  • 56 – Viv Richards (West Indies) v England 1986 St John’s
  • 57 – Adam Gilchrist (Australia) v England 2006 Perth
  • 67 – Jack Gregory (Australia) v South Africa 1921 Johannesburg
  • 69 – Shivnarine Chanderpaul (West Indies) v Australia 2003 Georgetown
  • 69 – David Warner (Australia) v India 2012 Perth
  • 70 – Chris Gayle (West Indies) v Australia 2010 Perth
  • 71 – Roy Fredericks (West Indies) v Australia 1975 Perth
  • 74 – Majid Khan (Pakistan) v New Zealand 1976 Karachi
  • 74 – Kapil Dev (India) v Sri Lanka 1986 Kanpur
  • 74 – Mohd Azharuddin (India) v South Africa 1996 Kolkata

Australia squad for third Test

Cricket Australia has announced a 12-man squad for the third Test against India, which begins at the WACA on Friday 13 January.

James Pattinson is out of the remainder of the Test series against India after scans revealed the early signs of stress fractures in the metatarsal bone of his left foot.

New South Wales youngster Mitchell Starc has been added to the squad in place of Pattinson.

“James Pattinson has been omitted from the squad due to a foot injury and has been replaced in the XII by Mitchell Starc”, John Inverarity, the national selector, said.

“The intention of the National Selection Panel was to rest James from the Perth Test match as this young man has played in four Test matches over a period of just five weeks.”

“This intention has become a necessity after post match scans have revealed James’ foot injury.”

“The magnificent victory at the SCG has given Michael Clarke’s team considerable momentum and captured the imagination of the cricketing public of Australia.”

Queenslander Ryan Harris, who was 12th man for the Sydney Test, is the man most likely to be given a chance in place of Pattinson.

Australia squad: Michael Clarke (capt), David Warner, Ed Cowan, Shaun Marsh, Ricky Ponting, Michael Hussey, Brad Haddin (w/k), Peter Siddle, Ryan Harris, Ben Hilfenhaus, Nathan Lyon, Mitchell Starc.

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder – Highlights

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder – Match Highlights

Watch the video highlights from the KFC T20 Big Bash League clash between the Melbourne Stars and Sydney Thunder from the Melbourne Cricket Ground.

Melbourne Stars vs Sydney Thunder – Scorecard

David Warner slams century against Melbourne Stars

David Warner hit a breathtaking century to guide Sydney Thunder to an easy win over Melbourne Stars at the MCG in the opening round of the KFC Big Bash League on Saturday night.

Fresh of a maiden Test hundred, Warner blasted 102 from 51 balls including six sixes and six fours to lead Thunder to a six-wicket victory with six balls to spare after they won the toss and restricted the Stars to 7-153.

CSK vs NSW: David Warner 135 not out off 69 balls – Video

Chennai Super Kings vs New South Wales Blues – David Warner

Chennai Super Kings (CSK) vs New South Wales Blues (NSW) – Scorecard

Result New South Wales won by 46 runs

Man of the match – DA Warner

David Warner (135 not out off 69 balls)has set a record for the highest individual innings in the Champions League Twenty20, outstripping Andrew Puttick’s unbeaten 104 off 62 balls for Cape Cobras against Otago at Hyderabad on October 10, 2009.

Warner has posted his second century in Twenty20 – his first being an unbeaten 107 off 69 balls for Delhi against Kolkata at Delhi on March 29, 2010.

Warner to captain Sydney Thunder

David Warner will captain the Sydney Thunder in the inaugural Twenty20 Big Bash League starting in December.

Warner, who arrived at Wednesday’s glamorous BBL launch on the back of a Harley Davidson motorcycle, was unveiled along with the other seven captains from the rival franchises.

While most of the sides opted for leaders with captaincy experience, the Thunder gave the job to Warner.

“I’ve played 105 Twenty20 games now and I reckon I’ve got the experience,” Warner said.

“I’ve learned a lot from the previous captains I’ve played with and hopefully I can bring something to the table.”

Asked if his captaincy style will match his aggression at the crease, Warner kept his cards close.

“We’ll have to wait and see, obviously (a lot of captains) have got a few tricks up there sleeve and I might have a few as well,” he said.

“I’ve actually been watching a bit of Warney when we play Rajasthan (Royals in the Indian Premier League).”

“He obviously analyses the players in depth and he has plans for each different player.”

“The way he goes about his captaincy, I’d like to lead like that and obviously with Pup (Michael Clarke) as well, he’s quick thinking and spontaneous and you can take that into account as well.”

While Warner lives in the heart of Sixers territory in Sydney’s eastern suburbs, he says he opted for the shorter boundaries and bigger crowds at the Thunder’s home ground at ANZ Stadium.

David Warner will be one of their major attractions alongside his fellow opener Chris Gayle.

“It’s going to be amazing,” Warner said of the chance to partner Gayle at the top of the order.

“Obviously I’ve opened the batting with guys like (Virender) Sehwag before and to have Gayle at the other end who’s six-foot tall and I’ll have to keep looking up at him, hopefully I can keep giving him the strike and he can keep hitting them over the fence.”

Asked whether he or Gayle possesses more power, the ultra-competitive Warner quipped: “He probably hits more (sixes) but I can hit it further.”

Brad Haddin will lead the Sixers, James Hopes the Heat, Tim Paine the Hobart Hurricanes, Michael Klinger the Adelaide Strikers and Marcus North the Perth Scorchers.

In Melbourne, the MCG-based Stars will be captained by Victoria’s skipper, Cameron White, while their cross-town rivals, the Renegades, will play out of the Docklands under Andrew McDonald.