Thami Tsolekile, Jacques Rudolph and Faf du Plessis handed central contract

Cricket South Africa (CSA) has named its nationally contracted squad of 22 players for the 2012/13 international year.

New additions to the squad are Faf du Plessis, Jacques Rudolph and Thami Tsolekile.

Loots Bosman and Ryan McLaren are the two players to drop off the list.

“Du Plessis and Rudolph have both played regularly for South Africa in the ODI and Test match format respectively this season,”  commented CSA selection convener Andrew Hudson.

“They (Du Plessis and Rudolph) are very much part of our plans going into the next 12 months when we have high profile international series against England, Australia, New Zealand and Pakistan as well as the ICC World Twenty20”

“We only contracted 21 players for the past year but the MOU does allow us 22 and this has made room for Tsolekile who has been impressive in this season’s SuperSport Series.

“He has consistently been among the top three on the four-day batting averages this season and is an experienced gloveman, particular in the longer format of the game.”

CSA national contracted squad:

Cricket South Africa contracted players list

  1. Graeme Smith (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)
  2. AB de Villiers (Nashua Titans)
  3. Hashim Amla (Sunfoil Dolphins)
  4. Johan Botha (Chevrolet Warriors)
  5. Mark Boucher (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)
  6. JP Duminy (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)
  7. Faf du Plessis (Nashua Titans)
  8. Imran Tahir (Sunfoil Dolphins)
  9. Colin Ingram (Chevrolet Warriors)
  10. Jacques Kallis (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)
  11. Albie Morkel (Nashua Titans)
  12. Morne Morkel (Nashua Titans)
  13. Wayne Parnell (Chevrolet Warriors)
  14. Alviro Petersen (bizhub Highveld Lions)
  15. Robin Peterson (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)
  16. Vernon Philander (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)
  17. Ashwell Prince (Chevrolet Warriors)
  18. Jacques Rudolph (Nashua Titans)
  19. Dale Steyn (Nashua Mobile Cape Cobras)
  20. Rusty Theron (Chevrolet Warriors)
  21. Thami Tsolekile (bizhub Highveld Lions)
  22. Lonwabo Tsotsobe (Chevrolet Warriors)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *