West Indies squad for tour of England

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) on Friday announced West Indies squad for the three-Test series on the tour of England, starting next month.


Denesh Ramdin replaces Carlton Baugh while Marlon Samuels has returned from a stint in the Indian Premier League to take over from opener Kraigg Brathwaite.

Assad Fudadin and seamer Shannon Gabriel are two uncapped players included in the 15-man Test squad.

Shane Shillingford is the only frontline spinner, selected ahead of Devendra Bishoo.

Commenting on the squad, Chairman of the WICB Selection Panel Clyde Butts said, “Young Gabriel continues to impress the selectors in both regional and A-Team cricket, and we field it is a good time to introduce him to the team.

“We feel he will be an asset to the team in England and has a bright future in West Indies cricket.

“Shillingford has bowled very well against the Australians and we expect a lot from him in England.

“Bishoo has done well for West Indies in the last year or so, but he has lost some of his confidence and the selectors feel playing him in the A-Team against India-A will give him the chance to regain that confidence.”

“We have got to continue to build for the future and we believe that Barath and Powell have bright futures in the game.

“We also feel this way about Kraigg Brathwaite, but he too, has lost some of his conviction and the selectors also feel playing him in the A-Team against India-A will give him the chance to regain that confidence.

“None of the other openers in the region have stood out and we are hoping to strengthen this part of our cricket in future regional tournaments and the A-Team tours.”

“Baugh has been good behind the stumps, but his batting has not quite lived up to expectations, hence the selection of Ramdin. Before he got injured in the camp prior to the Digicel Series against Australia, Denesh was showing good form both behind the stumps and with the bat.

“Marlon since his return to the team has not done badly for us and the selectors feel that he is an asset to the team. He had asked to miss the Australia matches for a stint at IPL.”

West Indies Squad

Darren Sammy (captain), Kirk Edwards (vice-captain), Adrian Barath, Darren Bravo, Shivnarine Chanderpaul, Narsingh Deonarine, Fidel Edwards, Assad Fudadin, Shannon Gabriel, Kieran Powell, Kemar Roach, Denesh Ramdin, Ravi Rampaul, Marlon Samuels, Shane Shillingford.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *