West Indies T20 World Cup 2012 Squad

The West Indies Cricket Board (WICB) has announced 15-man squad for the International Cricket Council’s World T20 Tournament in Sri Lanka in September.

Darren Bravo makes a return after missing the second half of the West Indies tour of England and the Series at home against New Zealand due to injury.

The batting is led by Chris Gayle and Kieron Pollard who are destructive in this format. Openers Lendl Simmons, Johnson Charles and Dwayne Smith have also done well for West Indies in the past at the top of the order.

Darren Sammy, Dwayne Bravo, Andre Russell and Marlon Samuels, have all proven their quality with bat and ball in this format, while wicket-keeper Denesh Ramdin brings a wealth of experience.

The spin bowling department is led by Sunil Narine, who played brilliantly in the IPL and has excelled since his international debut last December.

The other slow bowler is experienced leg-spinner Samuel Badree, who is the newest member of the squad, but has an excellent track record in this format at domestic level.

The two main fast bowlers in the squad are the experienced Fidel Edwards, who offers firepower, and Ravi Rampaul, who can be called upon at any stage in the innings.

West Indies T20 World Cup 2012 Squad

Darren Sammy (captain), Dwayne Bravo (vice-captain), Samuel Badree, Darren Bravo, Johnson Charles, Fidel Edwards, Chris Gayle, Kieron Pollard, Sunil Narine, Denesh Ramdin (wkt), Ravi Rampaul, Andre Russell, Marlon Samuels, Lendl Simmons, Dwayne Smith

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *