Zimbabwe squad for New Zealand tour announced

Zimbabwe has announced squad for the New Zealand tour starting from the 16th of January.

Opening batsman Vusi Sibanda has been left out of the squad after he was embroiled in a spat with the country’s cricket authorities.

Sibanda left to play league cricket in Australia during November and December without clearance.

In a statement, Zimbabwe Cricket said “Sibanda was not selected for the traveling party as the selectors upheld the ZC Cricket Committee policy which states that to be eligible for national selection, one has to be contracted to play domestic cricket in Zimbabwe.”

“At the beginning of the season, Sibanda was offered a ZC contract which he declined in favour of one to play Grade Cricket in Australia.”

“The eligibility policy provides for exceptions in the case of once-off tournaments abroad in which case a no-objection certificate is issued, such as the one given to Zimbabwe captain Brendan Taylor.”

Sibanda has been replaced by middle-order batsman Stuart Matsikenyeri, who returns to the team almost two years after an unsuccessful tour of the West Indies.

Graeme Cremer will be the second spinner for the Test match and will then be replaced by Prosper Utseya.

The convener of selectors, Givemore Makoni, said: “Graeme Cremer is going as the second spinner for the Test match and will then be replaced by Prosper Utseya for the One-Day International and Twenty20 matches.”

“Stuart Matsikenyeri has earned a recall into the national squad as he has done very well in the domestic competitions and is one of the few batsmen who has been consistent. He is an experienced and aggressive player.”

Zimbabwe squad: Brendan Taylor (captain), Hamilton Masakadza, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Tatenda Taibu, Malcolm Waller, Ray Price, Elton Chigumbura, Regis Chakabva, Stuart Matsikenyeri, Foster Mutizwa, Prosper Utseya, Graeme Cremer, Keegan Meth, Kyle Jarvis, Brian Vitori, Shingi Masakadza.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *