Bangladesh wins toss, decides to field against Zimbabwe

Bangladesh captain Shakib Al Hasan won the toss and elected to bowl first in Zimbabwe’s return to test cricket on Thursday.

Zimbabwe are going into the match with four debutants, opening batsman Tinotenda Mawoyo, middle-order batsman Craig Ervine, and bowlers Kyle Jarvis and Brian Vitori.

Bangladesh have two spinners in Shakib and Abdur Razzak, and three quick bowlers in Rubel Hossain, Robiul Islam and Shafiul Islam.

Bangladesh hasn’t played a test since losing 2-0 in a two-match series in England in June last year.

Zimbabwe last played a Test in 2005 against India at the same venue and lost the match by 10 wickets.

Zimbabwe: Vusi Sibanda, Tinotenda Mawoyo, Brendan Taylor (c/wk), Hamilton Masakadza, Craig Ervine, Tatenda Taibu, Elton Chigumbura, Ray Price, Kyle Jarvis, Brian Vitori, Christopher Mpofu

Bangladesh: Tamim Iqbal, Imrul Kayes, Shahriar Nafees, Mohammad Ashraful, Shakib Al Hasan (c), Mushfiqur Rahim (wk), Mahmudullah, Abdur Razzak, Shafiul Islam, Rubel Hossain, Robiul Islam

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *